Plastic Free July: The End!

Can you believe we’ve reached the end of July already? And with it comes the end of my Plastic Free July challenge! But — and I cannot stress this enough — it does not mark the end of my commitment to use less plastic.

The situation at home

Since I last posted I’ve reached something of a plateau on the plastic-free front; I feel like I’m getting into a steady pattern with my new habits, but not making any progress in the trickier areas. For example, we were hoping to buy plastic-free cheese and toilet paper last week, but alas we had no luck finding these items despite the internet’s assurances of their availability. Instead I continued to carefully ration my cheese this month. Of course, toilet paper is a bit harder to avoid so we bought the plastic-wrapped version. (On the bright side, no trees are harmed in the making of our toilet paper — we stick to post-consumer recycled paper or bamboo and sugarcane byproduct, both of which are readily available at supermarkets, unlike the paper-wrapped versions *grumble grumble grumble*…)

Here’s our plastic from the remainder of the month:

Our plastic from the last 10 days of July. Doesn't look much better than the first 10 days, does it?

Our plastic from the last 10 days of July. Doesn’t look much better than the first 10 days, does it?

This plastic pile includes:

  • Box from an Easter egg. (Yes, we still had a chocolate egg left over from Easter four months ago… We somehow ended up with a ridiculous amount of chocolates and sweets in the house this year and have slowly been working our way through it all!) The label on the plastic box has a lovely “Please recycle” printed on it but the plastic itself shows no sign of a plastic identification symbol so this will unfortunately be heading for landfill.
  • Stock powder jar. We’ve replaced the stock powder with cardboard- and foil-packaged stock cubes, although my long-term goal is to try making stock at home.
  • Plastic mailing bag from magazine — a great reason to switch to online delivery and/or ask the magazine distributor to switch to cellophane bags.
  • Dental floss. A quick google search came up with a few options for less-plastic or even zero-plastic alternatives — something to keep in mind when I run out of my existing supply.
  • Plastic wrapper from a bunch of organic, fair-trade bananas. While I understand the need to differentiate fair-trade or organic bananas from regular bananas, for me this really highlights the conflicts that arise when trying to shop ethically (both for food and for other items). Do I buy the fair-trade version, the organic version, the free range version, the locally grown/made version, the packaging-free version, the toxin-free version, the second-hand version, the reusable version? Ideally the answer would be “all of the above” but sometimes that just isn’t possible. I’d love to deduce the best possible choice using science and logic, but often the positive and negative impacts of a purchase can’t easily be compared on the same basis (if they’re quantifiable at all), so it ultimately comes down to a value judgement: which issue is most important to me at this point in time?

On the bright side, I continue to become aware of plastic items that I’ve already been avoiding without any conscious relation to PFJ. A great example is buying butter in a paper wrapper instead of “table spread” in a plastic tub — and the butter is perfectly spreadable thanks to the butter conditioner in our ancient fridge.

Last week I also went for another plastic-retrieval mission in my local neighbourhood. This time I went out two days before the rubbish collection, rather than two days after, and what a difference it made! I collected about half as much rubbish off the streets as last time. I’m overdue for this week’s plastic hunt, which I’ll have to do in August instead to help assuage my emerging plastic-purchase guilt.

The totals for this post are:

  • New plastic: 187 grams (176 grams of this is from recycleable milk and yoghurt containers, i.e. the products I said I wouldn’t stop using during PFJ, which means we were actually reasonably successful at avoiding other new plastic).
  • Pre-PFJ plastic: 80 grams (at least half of which came from food items that we’ve now replaced with plastic-free versions).
  • Street plastic: not weighed, but estimated at around 100–150 grams.
A brief excursion to the office

Once a month my workplace provides a lunch for all the staff as part of a regular office-wide meeting, and I was curious to see how this month would go with PFJ. Our lunch meeting was held last week, and the food on offer was the ever-popular Revive. I applaud Revive for doing such a great job of enticing people to eat vegetarian meals. Unfortunately, their takeaway meals are packed in plastic containers accompanied by a pile of plastic sporks, and so I chose not to partake in the office lunch this month. My colleagues all thought I was missing out, but you know what? I was more than happy with my own plastic-free lunch: a delicious sandwich of fresh, home-baked bread filled with home-grown salad and home-made roasted butternut hummus!

It’s also worth recognising that my work would have struggled to find a plastic-free takeaway lunch option for a group of a dozen or more people. When my colleagues and I discussed the issue, the the only option we could come up with was pizza. Can you think of any other alternatives?

Not “The End”

July may be over, but my waste-fighting journey sure isn’t. As I said in my previous update, I can’t unlearn the problems with domestic plastic disposal, I can’t pretend the plastic is no longer my problem once it leaves my house, I can’t reclaim ignorance of just how pervasive plastic is in our society, I can’t go back to sleep. As a result, with every future purchase I make I’m still going to be conscious of avoiding plastic.

Having said that, I am looking forward to opening the pack of crackers in my pantry, and even enjoying a bite or two of jelly-tip chocolate!

Keep an eye out for my follow-up post reflecting on the whole PFJ experience, and I hope you’ll stick around for future waste-related posts too.

9 thoughts on “Plastic Free July: The End!

  1. Wow! Great documentation. I used to work at a place where we had potluck lunches every so often. Instead of ordering takeout everyone brought something to share. More work but also more personal. Just an idea for an alternative. I too am bothered by the plastic wrapping on the organic bananas. What are they thinking? Don’t they understand their consumer base? I always do buy organic or poison free though. One time the checkout person asked me why when they are slightly more expensive and she asked if they taste better. I had to admit I can’t taste a difference but just think of what it must be like for the people who work in the toxic poison spraying plantations! I wouldn’t wish that on anyone. So yeah, for me it is worth paying a few extra cents.

    • Thanks for the idea, potluck is a great alternative! I’ll have to suggest it for my next work lunch.
      I also try to buy organic food to reduce the impact of pesticides etc on the farmers and environment, rather than any perceived personal benefits from it. But yes it is frustrating that plastic packaging seems to be so prevalent on organic products, especially for fresh produce, or things like flour where the non-organic version comes in paper.

  2. I have to agree with you with about buying the most environmentally friendly and ethical products- these don’t always align. For example I went to buy a cucumber from the supermarket and the plastic wrapped cucumbers were locally grown, the non-plastic wrapped cucumbers were imported- I was so confused & conflicted and went without!
    Also I have yet to find any plastic free (hard) cheese. I have been making my own soft cheese and purchasing off a local maker.

    • Good on you for making your own cheese, I’d love to try that sometime. I have come across fancy cheddar sealed in wax without a plastic wrapper, which is way too expensive for everyday use, but I’m still hopeful of being able to buy some unpackaged regular hard cheese at a supermarket deli…
      It’s interesting to see what we have to give up when we’re trying to purchase based on a set of ethical and environmental criteria. I often wonder what our diets in NZ would look like if we only ate locally-grown food – no more rice, for example?

    • Funnily enough, I went to a new supermarket on Saturday 1st August and, lo and behold, they had Greencane toilet paper! One day too late for PFJ, but at least I was able to buy some at last.
      Thanks for the links though, it’s always good to have options (though I do prefer not to shop online if I am able to buy the item while making a trip that I would be making anyway).

Leave a Reply

